Urgent COVID alert for three states

Traces of COVID-19 have been detected in the wastewater of three states, putting authorities on alert.

Traces of COVID-19 have been detected at sewage plants across Queensland, Victoria and NSW.

People who test positive for coronavirus can ‘shed’ virus fragments for several weeks if they are no longer infectious.

However, health authorities in Victoria remain on alert for cases after the Holiday Inn cluster prompted a five-day lockdown.

People who live or have recently visited Carrum Downs, Langwarrin and Skye are being urged to get tested even if they have the mildest of COVID-19 symptoms.

The push follows viral fragments being found in two wastewater samples collected between February 15-17.

Traces of COVID-19 were also detected in wastewater samples taken in the Wantirna South and Boronia area, and in the St Kilda East and Caulfield North area.

In Queensland, viral fragments have been detected at the Kawana sewage plant, which includes Caloundra and surrounds on the Sunshine Coast.

Queensland Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young said it was critical people with symptoms came forward for testing, so authorities could detect any cases they may not be aware of.

“It is very important people with symptoms come forward right away and get tested – now more than ever – with the new cases we are seeing in other states and the amount of interstate travel that we’ve seen over the past while,” Dr Young said.

NSW Health is aware of recent COVID-19 positive cases, including returned travellers, that live in the Auburn sewage catchment area where traces have also been detected.

However, authorities are asking everyone in the area to be vigilant and monitor for symptoms.

This includes people in Bankstown, Homebush West and Sydney Olympic Park.

Anyone who has any symptoms of COVID-19 is urged to get tested, especially if you live in or have visited the following:


– Carrum Downs or Langwarrin from 13 to 17 February (includes parts of Skye)

– Wantirna South or Boronia from 13 to 15 February (includes parts of Bayswater, Ferntree Gully, Knoxfield and Tremont)

– St Kilda East or Caulfield North from 13 to 16 February (includes parts of Balaclava, Caulfield and Elsternwick)


The Kawana catchment receives sewage from: Aroona, Battery Hill, Bells Creek, Birtinya, Bokarina, Buddina, Caloundra, Caloundra West, Currimundi, Dicky Beach, Golden Beach, Kings Beach, Little Mountain, Meridan Plains, Minyama, Moffat Beach, Palmview, Parrearra, Pelican Waters, Shelly Beach, Sippy Downs, Warana, and Wurtulla.


The Auburn catchment takes sewage from the suburbs of: Condell Park, Bankstown, Potts Hill, Birrong, Sefton, Bass Hill, Chester Hill, Regents Park, Chullora, Homebush West, Strathfield, Rookwood, Sydney Olympic Park, Newington, Granville, Clyde, Lidcombe, Auburn, South Granville, Guildford, Silverwater, Rosehill, Berala and Yagoona.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *